Tip: Defraging in “safe mode”

by

My computer was operating more and more slowly. I used DEFRAG regularly, but there were always many files that didn’t defragment.
Last evening, I booted up the computer in SAFE MODE. (You tap F8 as it’s booting up.) Then I ran “DEFRAG.” It took about 7 hours to finish defragmenting my files.
When it finally finished, I rebooted normally, and now my computer is much faster.

You may want to create a “RESTORE” point before doing this, in case something goes wrong. If it does, you can go back to the old RESTORE point.

Joan Brill

Good job Joan.  Going to safe mode should not be necessary in XP  (It was necessary in W98)  but if your drfrag does NOT complete  in regular mode,

Fig. 1

Fig. 1

SAFE MODE is defintely the way to go.
Jerry Heere

Leave a comment